Final Review: Reebok Zig Slash


This one is long overdue, but the launch of our AOL relationship at work, along with general other extra responsibilities, like coaching 8/9-year-old basketball this season, cut back on some of my recreational writing time. (I feel like I write these prefaces a lot.) Anyway, I’ve played in my custom pair of Reebok Zig Slash kicks for the last two months or so and I feel comfortable drawing conclusions now.

We’ve got a regular SN pickup game that usually goes for about two hours, and I also play relatively intense pickup at my Y, so the stress on these went well beyond getting into a gym and just putting up jumpers.

First, let’s talk about the weight, one of the alleged cons of this shoe. It’s definitely heavier than the adiZero Rose, the last shoe I wear-tested. It’s one of those things that you notice if you’re holding one shoe in one hand, and the other in your opposite hand. Once they’re on your feet though? I’m not sure anyone would notice. I think the weight of most hoops shoes is a wildly overrated feature. The last basketball shoe I tried on where I noticed the stark difference in the weight was the Nike Zoom Kobe V. But when you start talking about the difference of an ounce, I just don’t think most people notice it. That isn’t to say this is a positive about the shoe, but I don’t think it should be held against it as a negative either.

As someone who liked the Reebok Zig Pulse because of its great sole, there’s no great surprise that my favorite aspect of the shoe was once again the Reebok ZigTech sole. We play long, long runs of ball, and my feet coming out feeling good that night and even the next morning. I only played indoors, so I can’t speak to how the Zig Slash handles blacktop, but indoors, it felt like the traction was good for me.


My biggest concern going in was, despite a higher cut than the adiZero Rose, a lack of ankle support. As I’ve documented before, a lot of what companies are doing with ankle support doesn’t come with a higher cut, but instead comes with some type of heel cup. There’s no such thing present in this shoe. It’s the kind of cup adidas calls a Sprint Frame that you’ll also see present in all of the new Kobe shoes from Nike. But after two months — knock on wood — I’ve yet to roll my ankle in these things. Maybe just good fortune, but I didn’t have any problems. Still, it’s a design tweak I’d like to see them make for stability sake in the next iteration.


Consider this a word to the wise, if you’re going through the YourReebok ordering process: If you’re one of those sneakerheads like me who likes to keep his shoes looking clean, you might want to stay clear of the white patent uppers. Don’t get me wrong, I love the way my shoes turned out, but after one game out, they looked like I’d been playing in them for weeks already. They mark very, very easily, and those marks come off with varying degrees of success. I was able to clean probably 90 or so percent of the marks all over the shoes with a decent amount of elbow grease, but some things just wouldn’t come out. Consider it scars of battle, and I can live with it, but just remember it when you go to order. (Important note: The marks you see on the pictures in this post are ones I have not attempted to clean yet after my basketball game on Wednesday night. But I wanted to give you an idea of what you could expect, at least if you’re clumsy like me. For the original glam shots, check out the first post.)


In the time I’ve been playing in these shoes, the Reebok Zig Slash has already met markdowns in many stores. It’s not difficult to wander out to a mall and find them down from $99 to the current sale prices of $79, or even less in some cases. That puts it around the similar sale prices for Brandon Jennings’ Under Armour offerings and the regular price of the Kevin Durant shoes from Nike (although those are also readily available at markdowns in the $60-ish range.)

If we’re comparing the value of the customized product, you’re looking to shell out $125-$135. That puts you in the range of Durant’s shoe, as well as the adiZero Rose on miadidas.com.

Purely from a performance perspective, I probably got a better-than-expected experience out of the Reebok Zig Slash. The design elements still need some work, but with the Reebok ZigTech sole there is a literal solid base for the future of the line.

Have you picked up a pair of the Reebok Zig Slashes? If not, what are you playing ball in this season?

2 Responses to Final Review: Reebok Zig Slash

  1. Chris says:

    I Wanted To Know If You Feel As If They Made You Jump Higher Then You Did Before. I Love The Look But I Want It To Also Give Me A Little More Bounce

  2. chrislittmann says:

    No, these do not boost any additional jumping ability. No shoe really claims that these days.

Leave a Reply

